Google Virtual Kidspace | Informative,Educative and Entertaining

Emblem of India

The Emblem of India is an adaptation from the Sarnath Lion Capital of Emporer Ashoka, who ruled from 272 BC to 232 BC. It is preserved in the Sarnath Museum, near Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.The Lion Capital was erected  by Emperor Ashoka to mark the spot where Buddha first proclaimed his gospel of peace and emancipation to the four quarters of the universe. The national emblem is thus symbolic of contemporary India’s reaffirmation of its ancient commitment to world peace and goodwill. The four lions(one hidden from view ) – symbolising power, courage and confidence- rest on a circular abacus. The abacus is girded by four smaller animals—Guardians of the four directions: The Lion of the North, The Bull of the West, The Horse of the South and The Elephant of the East.

Emblem of India with three lions.

The motto Satyameva Jayate´ (truth alone triumphs) ± written in Devanagari script below the profile of the Lion Capital is part of the Emblem of India. The motto is taken from an ancient scripture the Mundaka Upanishad, the concluding part of the sacred Hindu Vedas.This National Emblem was adopted on 26 January 1950, the day that India became a republic.The emblem forms a part of the official letterhead of the Government of India, and appears on all Indian currency and Indian passports.
source: Emblem of India


Post a Comment

Get our Android App

Get our Android App